# EDUCATION GOVERNOR SELECTION SUB COMMITTEE 28 JUNE 1999

Present: Councillors Mrs Hayes (Chairman), Barnard,

Beadslev. Good. Mills. Mrs Shillcock.

Mrs Sutcliffe and Ward

Apologies: Councillors Mrs Doyle and Wheaton

#### 1. Election of Chairman

**RESOLVED** that Councillor Mrs Hayes be elected Chairman of the Education Governor Selection Sub Committee for the municipal year 1999/2000.

### COUNCILLOR MRS HAYES IN THE CHAIR

# 2. Appointment of Vice Chairman

**RESOLVED** that Councillor Ward be appointed Vice Chairman of the Education Governor Selection Sub Committee for the municipal year 1999/2000.

#### 3. Substitute Members

The Sub Committee noted the attendance of the following Substitute Members under Standing Order 38:

Councillor Barnard for Councillor Mrs Doyle Councillor Beadsley for Councillor Wheaton

## 4. Minutes

RESOLVED that the minutes of the meeting of the Sub Committee held on 15 March 1999 be approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

# 5. Vacancies on School Governing Bodies (Item 1)

The Sub Committee noted the report of the Director of Corporate Services setting out the vacancies and nominations received for LEA appointed Governors on School Governing Bodies in the Borough.

The Chairman reported that Councillor Beadsley had not intended his nomination for a current vacancy at Birch Hill Primary School to be considered at this meeting, but next term when his current term of office expired.

## 6. Exclusion of Public and Press

**RESOLVED** that pursuant to Section 100A of the Local Government Act 1972, members of the public and press be excluded from the meeting for the consideration of Item 2 which involved the likely disclosure of exempt information under category 1 of Schedule 12A of that Act.

## 7. Appointment to School Governing Bodies (Item 2)

The Sub Committee received the report of the Director of Corporate Services containing exempt information, including copies of nomination forms for those being considered for LEA Governor appointments.

**RESOLVED** that appointments to Governing Bodies be made in accordance with the schedule attached to these minutes.

## 8. Date of Next Meeting

The Sub Committee noted that next meeting was scheduled for Monday 27 September 1999 at 8.00 am (the closing date for nominations would be Monday 20 September 1999 at 5.00 pm).

The meeting commenced at 8.00am and concluded at 8.50am

**CHAIRMAN** 

## EDUCATION GOVERNOR SELECTION SUB-COMMITTEE – 28 JUNE 1999 SCHEDULE OF APPOINTMENTS MADE TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES IN BRACKNELL FOREST

SCHOOL	DETAILS OF VACANCY Current vacancies to be filled asap	DETAILS OF NOMINEES	DECISION AND TERM OF OFFICE
Binfield CE Primary	One vacancy arising on the expiry of Mrs J Edwards' term of office on 31-8-99.	Mrs J Edwards Mr E Sloper	Mrs J Edwards 1 September 1999 – 31 August 2003
Birch Hill Primary	One vacancy arising on the expiry of Mr P Roe's term of office on 19-7-99.	Mr P Roe	Mr P Roe 20 July 1999 – 19 July 2003
Brakenhale	One vacancy arising on the resignation on Mrs B Hirst	Mr M J Beadsley Mrs J M Bettison Mr L Swann	Mr L Swann 28 June 1999 – 27 June 2003
Crown Wood Primary	One vacancy arising on the expiry of Mr W Holness' term of office on 12-7-99.		Mr W T Holness 13 July 1999 – 12 July 2003
Edgbarrow	One vacancy arising on the resignation of Mr C Sexton	Mr P M Floyd	Mr P M Floyd 28 June 1999 – 27 June 2003
Garth Hill	One vacancy arising on the resignation of Mr R Draper	Mr R F Ackary	Mr R F Ackary 28 June 1999 – 27 June 2003
Great Hollands Infants	One vacancy arising on the resignation of Mr D Warner.		To be considered at the next meeting
New Scotland Hill Primary	<b>One</b> vacancy arising on the expiry of Mr P Bettison's term of office on 19 July 1999	Mr P Bettison	Mr P Bettison 20 July 1999 – 19 July 2003
Owlsmoor Primary	<b>One</b> vacancy arising on the expiry of Mrs S Edger's term of office on 19 July 1999	Mrs S E M Edger	Mrs S E M Edger 20 July 1999 – 19 July 2003
Ranelagh	Two vacancies arising from the reconstitution of the Governing Body.	Mrs M Bayle Mrs J M Bettison Dr M Lansley Mr M Wallace Mrs P Gates Mr D Ingham	Mrs J M Bettison Dr M Lansley 1 September 1999 – 31 August 2003
St Michael's CE Primary, Sandhurst	One vacancy arising on the resignation of Mr Collins	Mr M Brossard Mrs E A Clough	Mr M Brossard 28 June 1999 – 27 June 2003
Uplands Primary	One vacancy arising on the expiry of Mr C Smith's term of office on 11 July 1999	Mr C Smith	Mr C Smith 12 July 1999 – 11 July 2003
Warfield C E Primary	One vacancy arising on the resignation of Mr R Bell	Mrs J Martin	Mrs J Martin 28 June 1999 – 27 June 2003
Wildridings Primary	Four vacancies arising on the expiry of Mrs M Beadsley & Mr A Quartermain's term of office on 19 July 1999 and Mrs A Whiting & Ms L Jones' term of office on 31 August 1999	Mr R F Ackary Mr C J Beasley Mrs C R Egan Mrs P Gates Mrs A Whiting	Mr C J Beasley Mrs C R Egan 20 July 1999 – 19 July 2003 Mrs P Gates Mrs A Whiting 1 September 1999 – 31 August 2003